UNESCO World Heritage - Banská Štiavnica and the Technical Monuments in its Vicinity

Silver 200 Sk coin

Banska Stiavnica, the oldest mining town in Slovakia, had acquired a dominant position in Europe at the beginning of the 13th century. In a document issued in 1275, it preserved the oldest known town-seal from the medieval Kingdom of Hungary. From the 13th to the 19th centuries, it was one of the most important centres for the extraction of gold and silver, and was at that time the most important centre of mining engineering and education. The most ingenious mine-water management system in the world with progressive mining, processing and water pumping technology was constructed in the area in the 18th century. It achieved world-wide importance due to its Mining Academy (1762-1919), which was founded by Queen Maria Theresia as the first of its kind in the world. In 1950, it was declared a historic town reserve because of its unique architectural monuments. In December 1993, Banska Stiavnica and the local technical monuments were added to the UNESCO World Heritage list.

Description of the coin

Obverse

Obverse:
A beam-driven water pump, constructed by Jozef Karol Hell, and placed in the Siegliesberg shaft in 1738, is depicted on the obverse of the coin.

Reserve

Reverse:
The main architectural features of the historic town reserve of Banska Stiavnica are depicted on the reverse. On the right is the Column of the Virgin Mary, in the centre the Calvary buildings and on the left the Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary. The shield of the town is shown in the lower left part of the coin.

Coin's data

Designer: Milan Vircik
Material: Ag 750, Cu 250
Weight: 20 g
Diameter: 34 mm
Edge: inscription: "PATRIMOINE MONDIAL - WORLD HERITAGE"
Producer: Kremnica mint (Slovak Republic)
Number of
pieces minted:
18,200
of which 1,700 proof
Demonetized: 1,900 in brilliant uncirculated quality (2006)